I can’t even

Sometimes E is such a cute toddler it almost hurts.  She waves good morning to the cats. She does “cheers” with her sippy cup.  She tries to share her bottles with me.  She wiggles her butt to any kind of music.  She points at things she’s not allowed to play with and shakes her head “no.”  She cries when I won’t let her take her books to bed.  I can’t even. Everything she does makes me melt.

Except the occasional temper tantrum, over something like not letting her play in the toilet.  Or even better, over no identifiable reason at all.  But give me five minutes to recover and I’ll still find a way to make it sound cute.

tantrum.png

It amazes me how from day to day, it doesn’t seem like she changes much.  But if I think back to a full week ago, she’s learned so much since then.  She’s a different human being.  If I think back a full month ago, my mind is blown.

Food has been getting easier.  Not easy, but easier.  I’m finally becoming comfortable with the fact that some of the recipes I make don’t have to be free of dairy or eggs; sometimes I can make things that call for milk and eggs and I can just substitute those ingredients.  I’ve also accepted that when I substitute these items, it will NOT taste the same as it would with the real deal.  Once I let go of that expectation, I started enjoying the things I cook much more.  After all, E doesn’t know anything different, and she loves the food I cook.

Speaking of which, I made vegan mac and cheese and it actually freaking tasted like cheese.  E ate it for lunch for four days straight.  VICTORY!

I also made vegan brownies (from a mix) and she HATED them.  She took a bite and immediately spit it out.  Seriously, is this my kid?!  Who doesn’t like brownies?!?!?!

For the record, I thought they were amaze-balls.  I might have eaten about half the pan.

brownies

 

Leave a Reply

