There is no substitute for milk

We’ve finished up a week of incorporating hemp milk into E’s diet, and let’s face it:  it’s not ideal.  By replacing just five ounces of E’s daily formula intake with hemp milk, the girl has been beyond ravenous.  We have to find another option.

badchoiceLet’s recap:  Cow’s milk is out.  Goat’s milk is out.  Hemp milk is out.  Soy milk is an option but I have my reservations about soy being a major source of E’s nutrition. Hypoallergenic toddler formula is an option but I have equal reservations about “corn syrup solids” being a major source of E’s nutrition.

So what do we do?

Since E drinks the hemp milk with no issues, I started researching methods of adding protein to nut milk.  What I found was a natural, brown rice-based toddler “protein powder.”  In a nutshell, it’s formula.  That’s not what it’s called, but that’s what it is.  You mix it with “your beverage of choice,” and it contains tons of protein as well as a whole plethora of vitamins and nutrients.  But unlike hypoallergenic formula, its ingredients are plant-based and they’re not scary words that give me nightmares about what I’m feeding to my daughter.

It’s on order (arriving today), so we haven’t tried it yet.  I’ll be back with updates, but until then, my fingers are crossed.  There is no substitute for milk.  I’m just reaching into my bag of tricks to see if I can find something that will work for E.

Leave a Reply

