Soy verdict; or, a tale of never-ending vomit

Well, THIS mama learned her lesson.

When I last updated here, I was giving soy formula one more try with E because I had a sneaking suspicion she’s allergic.  I should have just gone with my motherly instincts.

E drank four ounces of the formula and all seemed to be going well…for a few hours.  We left B behind and went to the grocery store; B was knocked out on painkillers after some oral surgery on Friday.  I would usually never attempt the grocery store alone with E, but B is probably out of commission for the whole weekend.

E always does really well at the grocery store.  She happily plays with her toys for the first half of the trip and then falls asleep until we get back to the car.  Yesterday she seemed a little “off.”  She didn’t give one hoot about her toys and she was kind of zoned out.  I would have thought she was bone tired, except she’d just woken up from a nap.  I was singing “I’m a Little Teapot” to her in the middle of the store to try and cheer her up.  It didn’t really work, so I sang “I’m a Little Teapot” in public for nothing.

A few minutes later, after I’d accumulated a small pile of items in the cart, E started to spit up.  In a split second the spitting up became tidal waves of vomit that would not stop.  I’ve never seen so much vomit come out of a baby.  I didn’t know her stomach had the capacity to hold that much freaking liquid.  After a full minute of nonstop vomiting, it came to an end and E looked downright miserable.  There was so much vomit it was trickling out of the bottom of the car seat, and E was literally sitting in a pool of foul-smelling soy formula.

vomitI rushed the cart to the front of the store and told an associate he might want to put away the refrigerated items, because we had to get out FAST.  The man looked at me dumbfounded and said, “So you don’t want any of this?”  I pointed at my baby swimming in her own vomit and replied, “Uh, no, we have to leave now.”

Vomit splashed out of the car seat and on to my clothes the whole walk to the car.  Once there, I pulled E out of the car seat to change her and almost cried at how much vomit there was.  Note to self, things I will always pack in the diaper bag going forward:  1) Plastic bags for dirty clothes, 2) Towels, and 3) A water bottle for rinsing off anything covered in vomit.  Luckily I did have a burp cloth and spare clothes, but of course E vomited more as soon as I changed her so that was a wasted effort.

So the moral of the story is that I’m tossing the can of soy formula in the trash.

Leave a Reply

