Sleep is overrated

That’s what E thinks, at least.

sleepFor the past three nights, E has disembarked the sleep train.  Where before she was sleeping 5-8 hour stretches at a time, she is now waking every hour…at a minimum.  It seems to be for a different reason every time.  Once it’s because her pacifier fell out.  Then it’s because she wants to eat.  The next time it’s because she simply wants to be held and won’t take no for an answer.  And then, the most cringe-worthy of all, she wakes simply because she doesn’t want to sleep.  She lies in her bassinet and coos, as if she’s not the only one awake.  (Well, she isn’t now!)

Little stinker.

Such a cute, sweet little stinker.

It’s such a sudden change that I’m racking my brain trying to decipher what’s happened.  Or what’s still happening.  Is it a growth spurt?  There’s supposed to be one at four months, but she’s still two weeks shy of that date.  Is it teething?  Her excessive drooling has vanished, but it doesn’t rule out the possibility entirely.  Is it sleep regression?

Please, god, no.

I am a complete and total zombie, and that doesn’t bother me.  There’s coffee for that.  I do feel a little concern over the amount of sleep E is getting because if I’m only getting four hours a night, she’s not faring much better, and she’s not sleeping any more at day care than usual.

But if there’s anything I’ve learned, it’s that just when I start to get used to E’s sleeping habits, she throws me a curveball.  Her sleeping patterns usually last about two weeks and then everything changes.  So I keep repeating to myself:  this too shall pass.

And in the meantime, I’ll drink my weight in coffee and pray to the sleep gods.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

