Battle wounds

Lately I’ve been waking E up in the mornings to find her head covered in fresh, bloody scratches.  My poor girl looks like she’s been fighting with a bear, and it’s all because of her own tiny fingers.  When we put her to bed at night, she sleeps for about half an hour before waking, and then B and I watch on the video monitor as she begins clawing away at her scalp.  Sometimes it lasts a minute and then she falls back asleep.  Other nights, she’ll scratch for up to an hour before she finally settles.  Soothing her is of no help.  As soon as we leave the room, her head is fair game.

FullSizeRender (11)

Yikes!

I think I’m more bothered by it than E is.  She hardly seems aware that her head is covered in battle wounds.  Mostly I worry the scratches will get infected.  I worry that she’ll scratch so often or so deep that it will hurt her.  I worry that she’s doing it because something is wrong, and that I don’t know what to do to help her.

B is more relaxed about it.  He says babies scratch themselves and that she’ll grow out of it, and that we shouldn’t worry unless she seems to be in pain.  I know he’s onto something; I mean, we got 15 pairs of mittens at my baby shower for a reason, right?  But keeping E from pulling off her mittens is like trying to keep a cat from shedding its fur.

I’ve read that E’s scratching could be related to her eczema.  She’s got it pretty bad all over her body, although Aquaphor seems to help a little everywhere except for her scalp.  We’ve been taking extra precautions to keep her scalp moisturized and to slough off as much of the dry, dead skin as we can.  We’ve also ordered a baby nail file, since even after being trimmed her nails are jagged and sharp around the edges.

If it keeps up over the next couple of weeks, I’ll add it to the list of things to ask her doctor at her 4-month checkup.  (That poor doctor…oof.  I’ve already got about 99 questions and counting.)  In the meantime, I’m hoping some extra TLC to her scalp will make a world of difference!

Leave a Reply

